Class of 2020 Receives Principal's Award

Class of 2020 Receives Principal's Award

The Class of 2020 has gained special recognition from the College, with the entire cohort receiving the prestigious Principal’s Award at the Graduation Mass and Perpetual Awards Ceremony on 4 December.

The event, which was held in the College’s Padua Campus Gymnasium in order to accommodate parents and guests, began with Mass at 10am, followed by the presentation of awards.

It was the first time in MacKillop history that the Principal’s Award had been presented to more than two students at once, and it was fitting that this exceptional decision had been made in such an ‘unprecedented’ year.

In his remarks to the congregation, Principal Michael Lee acknowledged the attitude and spirit of Year 12 in a year characterised by disappointment and cancelled events, noting his admiration for the students’ approach to everything 2020 threw at them.

The Principal’s Award was just one of eight awards presented at the ceremony. Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2020 Perpetual Awards:

Principal's Award
The Class of 2020

Sr Noelene Quinane Award for Academic Excellence
Mykal Marsham

Tenison Woods Students' Choice Award
Ben Walker

St Mary MacKillop Award for Christian Leadership
George Arrouk

Rohan Schultz 'per ardua ad astra' Award
Mahaba Alagrab

Jodie Higgins Caltex Best All Rounder Award
Anna Hoang

Tegan Blunt Southern Cross Sport Award
Ellen Brown

St Mary MacKillop College Creative Arts Award
Stewart Barton

The College congratulates all award recipients and thanks Fr James Antony and Mr Jonathan Moyle for leading the Mass, and Mrs Sandra Darley for putting together the Perpetual Awards Ceremony.