2017 About

Principal's Welcome

Welcome to St Mary MacKillop College Canberra for 2019!

MacKillop moves into the 2019 academic year with confidence, energy, and ambition off the back of the 20-year celebrations last year. With two new buildings, rededicating the names of the two campuses, and such impressive Year 12 results for the Class of 2018, we have cause for optimism for 2019.

As you navigate our website and indeed if you visit MacKillop in person, you will feel the energy of our school. The energy comes from the key relationships between staff and students, among staff as colleagues, and between the students.

Facilities, buildings, and resources support a culture of learning, inclusion, respect for difference, and celebration of diversity.

At the heart of our school is a loving God and the example of St Mary of the Cross MacKillop. This is a Catholic school that welcomes everybody who wishes to contribute to our community.

With that deep comfort it is a great pleasure to welcome you to our community.

Yours in St Mary MacKillop,

Michael Lee,
College Principal

About the Principal

Michael Lee has been teaching since 1982, a Principal since 1999, and Principal of MacKillop since 2008.

He attended high school at Trinity Grammar School, Sydney, and is a graduate in Arts (History, English, and Political Science) from the Australian National University. He has a Masters in Education from ACU, and a Grad Dip Ed and Grad Dip RE (Catholic Studies) from Charles Sturt University.

Michael has been widely published as a contributor to English textbooks and related journals and in the National Press. He was awarded a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators in 2007 and of the Australian College of Educational Leaders in 2014. He was a finalist in the inaugural Secondary Principal of the Year in 2011.

Michael Lee is a powerful advocate for Catholic co-education and for the opportunities it offers its communities for an excellent education in faith, inclusion, diversity, and community engagement. He is a wide reader and possesses an enduring passion for Australian Rules Football and the Essendon Football Club.